Monsanto Fund announces winners of 2016 Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities program

Monsanto Canada Inc. 11/8/2016


$165,000 in grant money distributed to 66 rural charities across Canada

What makes life in a rural community better? How about quality healthcare, recreation facilities, emergency services, child care for working families and organizations that help people shine. Thanks to Canadian farmers, 66 charities and non-profits that make life better in small towns across the country will receive $2,500 grants from the Monsanto Fund as part of the 2016 Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities program.

Each non-profit was nominated by a local farmer who applied on behalf of their favourite cause.

The Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities program received more than 500 entries this year. Winners were drawn by board members of the independent administrator, Agriculture in the Classroom – Manitoba, on October 6, 2016.

“You hear $2,500 and you might think that’s just a drop in the ocean,” said Kelly Funke, public affairs manager at Monsanto Canada. “What I’ve learned from speaking with farmers and charities across Canada is that this can be a huge amount for some, or even just enough to push a fundraising project to meet its goal. And all because a farmer believed in the cause enough to take action.”

Now in its fifth full year, the Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities program generated a wide variety of ideas from farmers on how local groups in their communities could benefit from the grants. A large number of rural-based charitable groups also contributed ideas online at, which allowed them to suggest a cause and find local farmers to support it by submitting an entry.

Farmers living and working in the Maritimes, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Northeastern B.C. had from mid-January to the end of September to submit their entries by visiting the Canada’s Farmers website and completing an online application form. Farmer Alice Shenderevich of Roblin, MB applied on behalf of the Roblin and District Health Auxiliary, which will be putting its $2,500 toward purchasing a new blood pressure machine, a device in high demand in their rural hospital.

The Monsanto Fund plans to continue the Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities program in 2017. Farmers and rural residents can watch for details at winter trade shows and also visit in January 2017 for more information.

About The Monsanto Fund

The Monsanto Fund, the philanthropic arm of the Monsanto Company, is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to strengthening the communities where farmers and Monsanto Company employees live and work. Learn more at

About Monsanto Canada

Headquartered in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Monsanto Canada Inc. is part of the larger global Monsanto Company.  Monsanto is an agricultural company committed to bringing a broad range of solutions to help nourish our growing world. We produce a variety of seeds ranging from fruits and vegetables to key crops – such as corn, soybeans, canola and cotton – that help farmers produce abundant and nutritious food. We work to find sustainable agriculture solutions that help farmers conserve natural resources, use data to improve farming practices, use water and other important resources more efficiently, and protect their crops from pests and disease. Through programs and partnerships, we collaborate with farmers, researchers, nonprofit organizations, universities and others to help tackle some of the world’s biggest challenges.

To learn more about Monsanto, please visit:  or follow us on Twitter @MonsantoCda.    

For more information, please contact

Kelly Funke
Public Affairs Manager
(204) 985-1035 

Note:  A complete listing of all 66 winning entrants, their farmer nominator and their community, is detailed in the attachment to this news release.

Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities - 2016 Winners


Hussar & District Agricultural Society

Pam Collett, Hussar, AB

Standard Community Facility Enhancement Society (Memory Lane)

Michael Rasmussen, Standard, AB


Wetaskiwin Curling Association

Deanne Bye, Wetaskiwin, AB


Daysland Public Library

Brian Spiller, Daysland, AB


Moos on the Moove Dairy 4H Club

Bart Bikker, Barrhead, AB


Eleanor Hall School Enhancement Society

Carrie Ruch, Tawatinaw, AB


Sexsmith and District Museum Society

Jason Anderson, Sexsmith, AB


Eaglesham Volunteer Fire Department

Fiona Love, Eaglesham, AB


Alberta Birds of Prey Foundation

Boston Farms Ltd., Coaldale, AB


Vulcan County Health & Wellness Foundation

Ron Markert, Vulcan, AB


Girouxville Enhancement Committee

Alexandra Brochu, Girouxville, AB


Fabulas (Falher & Area Beautification & Leisure Activities Society

Selena Sliger, Falher, AB


Aspire Special Needs Resource Centre

Jennifer Griffin, Red Deer, AB


Penhold Fire Department

Steven Harris, Penhold, AB


Lamont Figure Skating Club

Mark Fedyniak, Star, AB


Beaver District 4-H

Rob Roulston, Bruce, AB


3 Cities 4-H Equine Club

Chris Adams, Paradise Valley, AB


Paradise Valley & Districts Agricultural Society

Dean Davidson, Kitscoty, AB




Rocanville School Playground

Nicki Davis, Rocanville, SK


Canora Junior Elementary School
Community Council

Craig Ostafie, Canora, SK


Norquay Ladies’ Hospital-Special Care Home Auxiliary Inc.

Jordan Vogel, Pelly, SK



Lake Lenore Heatwave

Kim Moorman, Lake Lenore, SK


Rose Valley Community Spirit Manor

Donna Prosko, Rose Valley, SK


Aylsham Volunteer Fire Department

Tammy Gray, Aylsham, SK


Zenon Park Community Partners Corporation

Denis Marchildon, Zenon Park, SK


Glaslyn & District Recreation Board

Joan Booy, Glaslyn, SK


Happy Hearts Childcare Centre Inc.

June Schutte, Shellbrook, SK


Weyburn & District United Way

Carmen Sterling, Weyburn, SK


MJHA Family Tenant Association

Paul Wilder, Moose Jaw, SK


Lakeland Early Learning Co-operative

Derek Stroh, Christopher Lake, SK


Hepburn Centennial Bowl

Sheldon Willems, Hepburn, SK


Last Mountain Pioneer Home Foundation

Terry Fiessel, Bulyea, SK


Strasbourg and Community Recreation Centre

Elaine Hack, Strasbourg, SK


Biggar Curling Club

Norm de Bussac, Biggar, SK


Small Steps Early Learning Centre

Scott Phillips, Outlook, SK


Odessa Fire Fighters

Shawn Muhr, Odessa, SK


Oxbow Arts and Cultural Committee

Carole Stewart, Oxbow, SK


Mossbank Early Childhood Play &

Learning Program

Natalie Nagel, Mossbank, SK


Central Butte & District Donor’s Choice

April Thurlow-Grasdal, Parkbeh, SK


Luseland Arts Council

Collin Reiber, Luseland, SK


Tramping Lake Curling Club

Chris Volk, Tramping Lake, SK







Minnedosa Primary Care Centre Inc.

Chris Brown, Minnedosa, MB


Bruxelles Community Development Committee

Linda Jonk, Bruxelles, MB


Souris Hillcrest Community Corporation

Dustin Williams, Souris, MB


Castleavery Cemetery Fund

Marlene Shearer, Dropmore, MB


Roblin & District Health Care Auxiliary

Alice Shenderevich, Roblin, MB


Oak Bluff Nursery School Inc.

Derek and Erin Erb, Oak Bluff, MB


Portage Industrial Exhibition Association

Katlyn Richaud, Portage la Prairie, MB


Roland Pumpkin Fair

Jayme Janzen, Plum Coulee, MB


Carman Dufferin Pool Splash Pad

Ryler Russell, Carman, MB